P17 – Exercise 1B – Making Marks (contd.)

I’ve already investigated making marks here. However I wanted to investigate marks in two other ways.

I had seen pictures of Henri Matisse drawing with a long stick.

My “long stick” was only a three foot garden cane. I fastened successively a 6B pencil, an 8B graphite pencil, a 0.8 mm fine liner pen, and a compressed graphite stick to the cane with rubber bands. While I was able to get some interesting marks, it was difficult to control the drawing implement. Perhaps this lack of control could be used positively.

The second set of marks I wanted to look at were ones with different dip pens. I used commercial metal nibs, home-made quills  and home-made reed pens. (Living close to a lodge with geese, swans and reeds is an advantage!)

Different pens had advantages and disadvantages. I know that pleasing marks can be made with metal nibs, quills and reed pens which I intend using at appropriate times later in the course.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1, OCA, Open College of the Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

