P24 & 25 – Basic Shapes and Fundamental Form

I had a bit of difficulty at the beginning of this project. “It is important not to confuse the idea of form with shape.” I had to read the initial information several times but finally decided the significant difference is that shape refers to the two dimensional square, or circle on the paper while form refers to the three dimensional cube or sphere which is represented.

Exercise – Boxes and Books

I drew six books of different sizes, four on top of each other and two propped up against the stack. It stated that I was to “draw as if you can see through the boxes. This will help you construct then accurately.” I did this though I wasn’t convinced that it had any point.

There was no mention of perspective in the instructions so I ignored this and constructed the cuboid forms from various parallelogram shapes.

Exercise – Jars and Jugs

I drew six tins and cylindrical food containers, initially in 8B graphite pencil then, after being rearranged, in 0.8 fine liner pen. The cylinder forms were made up of ellipses and two straight lines. Unlike the boxes, they were drawn as seen, not as transparent.

What puzzled me with this exercise was the student drawing illustration used. This showed several objects which were not true cylinders such as a triangular vase or bottle. It also had a lot of construction lines even though these were not mentioned in the text.

Exercise – Supermarket Shop

This is a drawing in 0.8 fine liner pen of a chopping board with a large box of tea bags, a tin of tomatoes, bottles of wine and olive oil, a bag of sugar and a box of matches.

I’m generally happy with this though the proportions of the bag of sugar are not accurate. The tin of tomatoes was at a slight angle as the box of tea bags had some give in the top. However it looks wrong and it may have been better if I’d drawn it vertically.

“Draw your group of objects this time using some colour.” I have coloured in the drawing using soft pastels as instructed though I don’t think this adds much to it. Originally I was going to use watercolours as the ink drawing was waterproof, but didn’t know how much the 140 gsm paper might buckle.

Check and Log:

  1. Are the objects in your drawings the correct size and shape in relation to each other? Generally I am happy with them, though as mentioned above the bag of sugar was out of proportion. I tried to get some perspective into the box of tea bags. The olive oil bottle was a rounded rectangular form which looks a bit strange in the drawing.
  2. Do the shapes between the objects look correct? I didn’t notice this question until afterwards so I can’t accurately answer this as I wasn’t studying the shapes between the objects.
  3. Do the objects in your drawings look solid? With the exception of the “transparent” boxes in the first exercise, yes, I believe they do, though I think they would have been better with some shading though this was not part of the exercise.
  4. Have you managed to create the feeling of depth? Again, with the exception of the “transparent” boxes, I think I’ve succeeded with a feeling of depth, particularly with the final shopping drawing.
About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Check and Log, Drawing 1, OCA, Open College of the Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

