P28 – Tone and Form – Exercise – Tonal Studies

“Try to make four distinct grades of tone using hatching.”

I hope I did this exercise correctly as I have produced the different tones by successive cross hatching. It occurred to me afterwards that the instruction referred to “hatching” and not “cross hatching” and it may have wanted me to hatch in just one direction with different densities of lines.

“Make a quick line drawing of [four objects such as fruit, or other fruit]. Then use a hatching technique to add the tonal shadow patterns to your drawn objects.”

Two apples, a kiwifruit and a banana

I’m really pleased with this drawing which I drew with my 0.2 fine liner. I decided to use a pen as I didn’t want to confuse the issue by accidentally shading instead of using hatching. The left hand apple is not as accurately drawn as I would have liked but the shading is fine.

Check and Log:

  1. How difficult did you find it to distinguish between light from the primary light source and secondary reflected light? Not particularly difficult. The second drawing of the two plant pots shows light on the bottom third of the right hand side of the larger pot which is reflected from the surface of the table. There is a similar area of reflected light on the left hand side of the left hand apple in the above drawing.
  2. How has awareness of light and shade affected our depiction of form? In the previous topic, I mentioned that I had difficulty at first distinguishing between the terms ‘form’ and ‘shape’ and decided  that ‘form’ referred to the 3D appearance of an object made up of 2D shapes on the 2D paper. In the evaluation of Exercise 5 about form I stated that the shopping would have looked more solid with some shading. Shading as in the second drawing of the plant pots or hatching as in the drawing of the fruit is essential to give a 3D form to objects on a 2D sheet of paper.
About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1, OCA, Open College of the Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P28 – Tone and Form – Exercise – Tonal Studies

  1. clinock says:

    You are brave to use a pen rather than graphite – need to get it right first time around – no erasing possible – fine drawing John…

Leave a Reply

