Changing thoughts on why I draw

Some interesting reflections on why we draw and a discussion on “Drawing is a verb” v “Drawing is a noun”. Worth checking out.

ocadrawing1log

I have been looking at the book Drawing Now: eight propositions. This is a thought provoking book and the introductory chapter, Drawing is a noun, made me really think about why I draw and led to the realisation that the answer to that is changing as I work my way through this course. Prior to starting the course I would have said that I wanted to learn to draw ‘properly’ i.e. for whatever I was drawing to look exactly like whatever I was trying to draw. The closer that an artist’s work looked like something I could clearly recognise as being accurate, the better I thought it was. I still want to be able to learn to draw well and accurately and develop the technical skills but increasingly I am realising that there is so much more to it than that, and that one of those things that is…

View original post 1,053 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1, Reblog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

