P38 – Project Still Life – Exercise – Observing Negative Space

For this exercise I used five vases which had similar curves, as in the initial information for this project there was the suggestion: “Repetition of shape, colour or theme helps to bind the composition together.”

I followed the instructions for this exercise twice, firstly with willow charcoal, where I drew the objects themselves, and secondly with the goose quill and ink.

Five Vases in Charcoal

Five Vases in Ink with Quill

I then followed the instruction for the second part of the exercise using a fine liner pen.

Five Vases in Fine Liner Pen

When I first saw this exercise it rang a bell. Looking at the photographs I took on a recent holiday to Norway, I realised it was a diptych I’d seen in Bergen Art Museum.

Five Doctors and Five Undertakers by Steinar Jakobsen

[This my image so NOT to be used by Bridgeman Education!]

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1, OCA, Open College of the Arts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

