P47 Preamble to Module Two aka ‘Colouring In Cabbages’

“For these pieces of work you have a free rein to find and draw natural objects that interest you. Choose things with interesting textures and patterns and take time finding interesting combinations of objects to draw.”

These are the opening words of the second project of this module. Any piece of text which uses ‘interest’ or ‘interesting’ three times in two and a half lines should have rung a very loud alarm bell! I drew some ‘interesting objects’ in the first module – but they were mainly the man-made objects, such as the stainless steel pots with their distorted reflections. In this module such things were banned. To me ‘an interesting natural object’ is an oxymoron.

I have finally finished the exercises for this module and am now writing up the notes to go with them. Although I started at a reasonable pace, the time taken for each exercise gradually got longer and longer, even though I did a quite a bit of jumping around to try and find ‘interesting’ things to do. It was only my dear wife’s insistence that only when I’d got the module out of the way could I move on to things such as drawing outdoors, buildings and other man-made structures, and figure drawing. (Yes, I know there is a study of trees, but I’m sure I’ll cope with that.) This spurred me on to get it finished and ‘out of the way’. I hope once I have completed the assessed piece, I will be able to bury most of the coloured media deep in my art box never to see the light of day again.

I do not intend spending a long time writing up these notes. I hope the comments will not all be negative. About a year ago at a life drawing group, one participant was complaining about an institution who wouldn’t take certain of his qualifications into consideration for something. “I hope they don’t expecting me to start drawing cabbages!” he exclaimed. At the time I didn’t fully understand his remark. I do now!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P47 Preamble to Module Two aka ‘Colouring In Cabbages’

  1. Pingback: Tutor Report on Assignment Two | The Milkman Goes To College

Leave a Reply

