Preamble to Unit 3 – Drawing Outside

What a difference a change of subject makes! Having hated the second unit ‘Colouring in Cabbages’ which took me over a year to complete, I’ve completed the third unit within two months, the reason being I loved it! I enjoy drawing en plein air and also drawing buildings. A couple of years ago, I attempted to start a sketching group called Draw Out. Unfortunately, 2012 was one of the wettest summers for several years and we only managed two sessions. I am now a regular member of Manchester Urban Sketching Group.

I have used the same A4 sketchbook for several outdoor sketches not linked to course exercises. I hope this fits in with the “evidence of a visual journey” mentioned in the Tutor Report on Unit 2. I have also tried to add more notes by the sketches. There is a certain amount of irony in this. My main blog is called Notes to the Milkman. The name comes from a comment made several years ago by my first drawing teacher who, to emphasis that sketches should not be regarded as precious, told me to treat them ‘like notes to the milkman – they have a job to do and once they’ve done that job that’s it!’ Yet I am still reluctant to ‘deface’ my actual drawings with written comments and notes.

In view of the comment in the Tutor Report “Keep experimenting with other mediums such as charcoal which can help to make your mark making a lot looser and more fluid, as you have a tendency to be rather hesitant,” I have made sure I have included some looser work such as the five minute sketch of Laskill Grange. 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preamble to Unit 3 – Drawing Outside

  1. Frances says:

    I like cabbages a great deal – are there any surviving sketches (coloured or not) of them?

Leave a Reply

