P88 Parallel Perspective – An Interior View

The subject for this drawing should be the view through a doorway inside a building. … Draw in line and check the angles of all receding lines against the horizontal and vertical lines of the doorframe. Don’t use  a ruler or a rubber.  … The basic rule of perspective states that lines that are actually parallel will recede to the same vanishing point. Now check to see if they do…

This is the view from the corridor into Room 2023 of the Warwick Hotel New York. I was sitting in a chair in the corridor and my eye level was somewhat

above the dresser which the television is on.

OCA32This is a scan with ruled lines to check the vanishing point. Generally I am happy with the result with only the bottom of the picture being well out of the grouping.

OCA53aWhile this drawing is outside I thought it was relevant here. It is of the Bridgewater Canal as it goes under Oxford Road in the centre of Manchester. I drew the right hand side then it started raining so I took a quick shot on my phone. I finished the left hand side from the photograph which I found much harder as it is more difficult to sort out questions such as ‘What is that?’ and ‘How does that go?’ ‘Live’ you just have to move your position slightly to get the answer. I used a few ink washes.

OCA38aThus is the scan with ruled lines to the vanishing point. This was not as successful as the hotel room. I clearly have not drawn the windows steeply enough. The angles need to be much steeper.

OCA54a

 

 

 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

