P90 Check and Log

What problems did you find in executing perspective drawings?

I know many people hate perspective drawings but I enjoy them. (The three I drew in North Yorkshire were done ‘for pleasure’ rather than this course.) I didn’t find any particular problems. Like everything it is a matter of practice. After drawing the Bridgewater Canal sketch, I know not to be afraid of realising angles can be quite steep.

I realise that things can go wrong with perspective. I drew this sketch of the Gateway Bridge in Bolton as part of the 28 Drawings Later challenge in Facebook. (The idea was to sketch a picture everyday and load it up to the group.) At first it seems OK but I knew there was something wrong. I then realised that the perspective made it look as if I was drawing from a second floor window rather than from street level.

28DL18a

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Check and Log, Drawing 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

