P92 Study of a Townscape Using Line

Use two sketchbook pages to make a preliminary drawing of this study. … Complete the study in pen and ink.

In each unit there seems to be an exercise which I don’t understand. In Unit 2, it involved hatching with a pencil. Shading with a pencil and hatching with a pen I understand, but pencil hatching I don’t. In this exercise why are two pages used? So there are ugly rings down the middle? Have I misread and there are two drawings on the two pages? No, it says drawing in the singular. What is the difference between two A4 pages here and one A3 page requested elsewhere? Puzzled!

Here is my line study of the back of Bolton College. The college opened on this new campus in September 2008 just after I retired. Art courses here helped me adjust to retirement. I no longer attend as after funding changes they only seem to be interested in school leavers who are not good enough for the sixth form college next door.

I drew this on a pleasant afternoon in early spring. Several people, including some art students, stopped for a chat. I like modern buildings like this and am currently developing a series of screen prints of such buildings, but based on my photographs rather than my drawings. With suitable framing and cropping, it is quite straight forward to get fairly abstract, but still recognisable, images.

There was a shadow of the rotunda cast onto the other building. I found it tricky to draw the reflective metal cladding on the top of the left hand building. This is strange as I really enjoyed the exercise with the stainless steel pots, and there reflections, in the first unit.

OCA64

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to P92 Study of a Townscape Using Line

  1. Pingback: P95 A Limited Palette Study From Your Sketches | The Milkman Goes To College

Leave a Reply

