P108 – Project: Proportions – Quick Poses

I managed to persuade a friend to pose for me on a sea day on a recent holiday cruise for the quick poses exercise. He spent the time doing suduko puzzles on his tablet.

Draw marks onto the figure to show that you have measured the proportions correctly.

First, draw five two-minute sketches of the model in your sketchbook …

P108-Fig01

P108-Fig02

 

 

P108-Fig03

I found these five two-minute poses a bit of a rush, even though I normally draw quickly. I used the length of Steve’s head as the ‘standard unit’, with ‘just above the waistband’, ‘knee’, ‘just above the ankle’ and 1/2 a unit to the foot as the other markers.

The first two sketches were drawn with a 3B pencil, the next two with charcoal and the last one with a Sharpie fine tip felt pen.

Then draw two 10-minute drawings.

P108-Fig04I was unhappy with Steve’s ‘chunky’ left hand.

P108-Fig05

With this second sketch, I had to use the ‘standard’ unit across the figure as well as vertically.

 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

