P122 Project: The moving figure – Exercise: Fleeting Moments

I knew I’d hate this exercise! I find it very difficult to draw from either my imagination or from memory. (Being married to the Management for forty years did not make the portrait from memory any easier!)

I had considered seeking out an Indian dance school in the area for this exercise, but was unable to find one in the time.

I hoped very short time intervals might help. It didn’t! I recorded a short modern dance from Sky Arts 2 which was to the music of Ravel’s Bolero. A male dancer with a muscular, toned physique (you could certainly make out muscles and bone structure under the skin with him!) danced on a raised platform, while progressively more and more other male dancers joined around the platform as the music became more frenetic.

I paused the recording at various points, tried to memorise the pose, turned off the recording and tried to draw the dancer. With the first pose, I managed to get the legs the wrong way round even though I was drawing the pose only a minute after studying it! I’m blaming the black leggings – which I didn’t attempt to describe as black.

After drawing five poses, I decided to redraw them directly from the paused recording.

P122-Fig30

Drawn from memory

P122-Fig31

Drawn directly from the TV.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

