P123 Project: The Moving Figure – Research Point

Go and do some people watching. … If  possible do some sketches. … Record your observations in your learning log.

I went ‘people watching’ in the centre of Bolton. Firstly in the main square where people were having lunch or shopping. I then went to the central library and then the train station. I jotted down what the people were doing and any relevant observations.

P123-Fig06

P123-Fig07

P123-Fig08

P123-Fig09

P123-Fig10

Check and Log:

How well did you manage to create the sense of a fleeting moment rather than a pose?
If you only have a minute or two to get the essential structure down, it can only be a fleeting moment. Even then I had several sketches of parts of bodies before their owners fleeted off.

How successful were your attempts to retain an image and draw later on? 
I didn’t attempt. Drawing the male dancer was enough! I draw what is in front of me at that moment.

Were you able to keep to a few descriptive lines to suggest the person’s movement or were you tempted to keep introducing more elements into your work?
When I had more time I was able to add more detail, but for most I was only able to use a few lines.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Check and Log, Drawing 1, Research. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

