P166 Exercise: Detailed Studies

There may be objects or features that you wish to include in your landscape. … If this element of your drawing is to be convincing you will need to work out the basic elements of the form.

As time was getting very short at this point, the main details I looked at were people as I knew that I need figures in my final assignment piece a) to give a sense of scale and b) to make the scene animated. People make places interesting! These sketches were based on photographs which I took around the Lowry. The lad on the bike was doing tricks; others were just walking around or standing chatting. I used a 3B pencil.

AIMG_2610I also looked at some of the features of the buildings. In particular I wanted to find out if shading with soft graphite pencil or charcoal would be best for the shadow areas – the answer was charcoal. After the disaster of the ink wash ‘barrage balloons’ I needed to practice getting more realistic clouds with charcoal.

AIMG_2611

AIMG_2612

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Assignment, Drawing 1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

