P167 Assignment Five Option 3

Decide on the most appropriate media for your subject. … At this stage, it’s probably best to use media that you’re very familiar with. … Working on a larger surface will mean that you may need a board tilted towards you. … Try to keep an open and enquiring approach and search for an interpretation of your subject that is right.

The media I used were 0.8 (for the foreground) and 0.2 (for the background) fine liner pens, 4B soft graphite pencil and willow charcoal. I am ‘very familiar’ with these and also they were ‘appropriate’ as the main colour of the buildings is metallic grey.

In view of the size of the paper, I had to use my easel which is a semi-studio one so, having previously travelled from home in Bolton to Salford Quays by bus and train with my A3 pad, I had to use the car to transport my equipment.

The view I selected was one I had sketched early in the unit, the Lowry from the left hand side. I decided against the right hand side as I regarded the ‘chimney’ structure there was one challenge too far.

AIMG_2607I am generally happy with this drawing with the possibility of the lad on the bike. I only added him after I’d drawn the steps so, while he was wearing dark clothes, I had to use a fine felt pen to cover the ink used for the steps. While he does the job of leading the eye into the picture, he is a little too dominant.

As an exercise, having studied the Golden Section in my research, I decided to impose a grid on the drawing using PhiMatrix. I had not ‘used’ the Golden Section during the drawing of the piece.

finalwithphigridFirstly, the right hand edge of one section of the building and the left hand of the window coincides with the left hand vertical section. Secondly, the right hand of the window coincides with the right hand vertical section. Finally, the semi-cylinder fits between the two horizontal sections.

 

 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Assignment, Drawing 1 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

