Expressing My Vision Of The Photography 1 Course

Hi

I have recently completed Drawing 1 with the OCA. I am now embarking on two more courses viz. Photography 1 – Expressing Your Vision, and Printmaking 1.

My first camera cost eight shillings from Woolworths. It had a wire viewfinder fastened to the top. My first ‘proper’ camera was a Zenit B in the early 70s which cost £25 – two weeks wages! It was fully manual and, if nothing else, it taught me about depth of field and the relationship between aperture and shutter speed. I now use a Canon EOS 1100D.

The photographer who has impressed me most lately is Carrie Mae Weems whose work I saw at the Guggenheim in New York earlier this year.

I used to be a member of Bolton Digital Photographic Society, but left for a number of reasons including the high emphasis on competitions. One thing that used to annoy me too was talk about equipment. I often asked if they thought Michelangelo went on about chisels! One aspect of the club I did enjoy was the ‘themed’ competitions as it forced me to think about then go and get photographs which fitted that theme, often shots I would not have normally taken. I’m hoping this course will provide similar stimulation.

(The photograph in the header above is Sunrise on the Ganges, taken at Varanasi in 2009.)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Photography 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

