My Life As A Printmaker

Hi

I have recently completed Drawing 1 with the OCA. I am now embarking on two more courses viz. Photography 1 – Expressing Your Vision, and Printmaking 1.

My first job after leaving university was with a dyestuff manufacturer, working in the printing lab. This lead to jobs with a carpet printer, and two textile printers. However, a recession and two redundancies saw me leave a rapidly contracting textile industry, moving into other career paths.

When I retired from secondary school science teaching six years ago, I stated in my leaving speech that I intended doing something with my hands, with my head and with my heart. I had various things in mind when I made that statement, most of which have never happened. Instead, I discovered art, and printmaking in particular.

In autumn 2008, just after retirement, I was at an open day at an old restored Victorian swimming baths where Hot Bed Press had a stand. I inked up the lino block which had been cut to resemble on of the tiles at the baths, cranked the handle in the small press and, lo and behold, I had produced my first print! I was hooked!

I signed up for a six week introductory course and discovered the pleasures of printmaking, specifically gum arabic transfer printing which I did for about two years. For the last four years, though, I have mainly been screen printing. I am currently a member of the Hot Bed Press board.

Two things, though, that I haven’t done since that introductory course are lino cuts or collagraphs. Earlier this year, I did an online course on Making Monotypes using gelatine plates. However, I have not done monotypes using a hard glass plate so I am looking forward to comparing the two techniques, as well as the new-to-me methods of lino and collagraphy.

96 98 100 The Quays Bronze Landscape

 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Printmaking 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

